Lord of the Rings
1. The Fellowship of the Ring (1954)
2. The Two Towers (1954)
3. The Return of the King (1955)
The Lord of the Rings (omnibus) (1968)

History of Middle-Earth
3. The Lays of Beleriand (1985)

The History of The Lord of the Rings
1. The Return of the Shadow (1988)
2. The Treason of Isengard (1989)
3. The War of the Ring (1990)
4. Sauron Defeated (1992)

Later Silmarillion
1. Morgoth's Ring: The Legends of Aman (1993)
2. The War of the Jewels: The Legends of Beleriand (1994)

The Hobbit: or, There and Back Again (1937)
The Adventures of Tom Bombadil (1962)(C)
Farmer Giles of Ham and the Adventures of Tom Bombadil (1975)(C)
The Father Christmas Letters (1976)(C)
The Silmarillion (1977)(C)
Unfinished Tales of Númenor and of Middle-earth (1980)(C)
The Book of Lost Tales (1983)(C)
The Book of Lost Tales. Part II (1984)(C)
The Lost Road and Other Writings (1987)(C)
Tales from the Perilous Realm (1993)(C)
Poems by J.R.R. Tolkien (poems) (1993)(C)
The Peoples of Middle-earth (1996)(C)
Roverandom (1998)(C)

The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien (1991)(NF)
The Monsters and the Critics: The Essays of J.R.R. Tolkien (1991)(NF)
Deconstructing Tolkien: A Fundamental Analysis of the Lord of the Rings (2004) (with Edward J McFadden, Tom Piccirilli and Jane Yolen)(NF)

Go Back to Peter Straub
e-mail me
Go Forward to John Tranhaile
Return to Bookshelf